Archive for June, 2012

Natasha Trethewey, Poet Laureate Consultant in Poetry for 2012-2013.
Photo by Nancy Crampton.

Pulitzer Prize-winning poet and Emory University English and creative writing professor, Natasha Trethewey has been named by the Library of Congress as the 19th U.S. Poet Laureate Consultant in Poetry for 2012-2013.

The first poet to hail from the South since Robert Penn Warren in 1986, Trethewey is one of the youngest laureates to take up residence in Washington, whose term begins this September—coinciding with the 75th anniversary of the poetry center. Trethewey will also have the unique distinction of serving as Mississippi’s poet laureate while concurrently serving as the U.S. laureate.

It is altogether fitting that Trethewey has been named U.S. Poet Laureate during the Civil War’s Sesquicentennial: she won the Pulitzer Prize for poetry in 2007 for her volume Native Guard about a black Civil War regiment, the Louisiana Native Guards, who were assigned to guard white Confederate POWs on Ship Island off the coast of Mississippi.

While holding the position as Poet Laureate Trethewey intends to promote national activity around the writings and to connect with the library and people who visit it in the nation’s capital.

For more information on the U. S. Poet Laureates and poetry in general visit: http://www.loc.gov/poetry/

And for your reading pleasure check out:
The Poets Laureate Anthology, edited by Elizabeth Schmidt (W. W. Norton & Co., 2010.)

Poems by each of the 43 poets who have been named our nation’s Poet Laureate since the post (originally called Consultant in Poetry to the Library of Congress) was established in 1937.


Read Full Post »

The third installment highlighting my favorite British detective writers.

Thomas Lynley, Lord Asherton, follows in the footsteps of other aristocratic English detectives like Ngaio Marsh’s Roderick Alleyn or Dorothy Sayers Lord Peter Wimsey. Lynley is paired with Barbara Havers, a working class detective sergeant. Through seventeen novels, their friendship and professional partnership has grown and weathered both personal and professional losses. In the latest book of the series, Believing the Lie, Lynley investigates the “accidental” death of Ian Cresswell and the possibility that a close family member was involved in the death.
George, is often compared to the great British detective writers of today including Ruth Rendell and P.D. James, and is the winner of both the Anthony and Agatha awards for mystery fiction. The Inspector Lynley series was also a BBC television series that ran from 2001 to 2007.

Read Full Post »